we’ve walked side by side until the beach washed over us

“Did you call me?” – come on say you did, say you have 30 minutes to spend with me.

“No, I don’t even have your number.” – if only he’d ask me to spend even half an hour with him now. Are we all going to end up lonely because after a quarter of a century we’ve finally figured out what it is we want, what we like, what we won’t tolerate.

“I guess my phone was acting up again. I’ll see you tomorrow then.” – I’m not gonna see you tomorrow, and I can’t ask you out again on a date and be told no. I chased you for a year now, it’s time to move on.

“But why would I call you, you know I don’t like speaking on the phone. Goodnight.” – how did I become so awkward? was he trying to be sweet? I can’t try to guess his words anymore, I tried kissing him at the concert and on holiday, but his loud silence broke me down. I think it’s time that I move on.

Miss Mess

xoxo

About iheartmess

A Middle Eastern Londoner 20-something living the 'western' life in between London and home.
This entry was posted in Fears and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

