Beautiful people

Since the age of 7 I only wanted to be friends with the ‘beautiful’ people, although this intrinsic vanity is alarming, what my childish criteria later allowed me to see was depth below the skin: it was the likes of the mean, the rude and the liars that look the most ugly. I learnt to judge beauty as what it should really be, engrained in one’s personality.

And through life, be it school, college, work, in the coolest cafés, flashiest bars – I met a lot of ‘ugly’ people. But sadly I would still be attracted to the beautiful, the beautifully superficial… What society has demonstrated and taught us, good looks, nice clothes, hot car, expensive bag. Despite knowing it’s only really on the surface, and material things don’t make me smile when my bed is empty, I still forget to downplay its importance.

I hope I learn to remember, and I hope we don’t only see beauty as what’s on the surface.

Miss Mess

xoxo

About iheartmess

A Middle Eastern Londoner 20-something living the 'western' life in between London and home.
This entry was posted in World View and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

